Virginia Tech®home


GO Virginia Region 2 staff and team members conducted research, collected data, and held meetings designed to identify regionally-specific growth areas that could lead to the creation of high-wage jobs. This data informed Region 2's Growth and Diversification plan.

GO Virginia Region 2 is currently accepting proposals for projects that seek to address the growth areas identified in the Growth and Diversification plan and that will grow higher wage jobs.

The GO Virginia program is divided into nine different geographic regions.

Virginia Tech's Center for Economic & Community Engagement is the facilitator for GO Virginia Region 2, which includes cities of Covington, Lynchburg, Radford, Roanoke, and Salem; and the counties of Alleghany, Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford, Botetourt, Campbell, Craig, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Montgomery, Pulaski, and Roanoke.

If you live in GO Virginia Region 2 and you are interested in being added to our mailing list, you can sign up here to receive our newsletter, which comes out every other month. If you would like more information about the program, please email Doris.

Learn more about GO Virginia at the GO Virginia Website.

University faculty are encouraged to consider opportunities for funding with GO Virginia. This is a state grant program supporting projects leading to higher wage growth, primarily driven by new investments to Virginia. Topics of interest include technology, talent, entrepreneurship, and industrial sites or specialized facilities (e.g. research park infrastructure) driving growth targeted industry sectors. 

The program funds regional grants around the state (generally  in the $100,000-$600,000 range) and multi-regional or statewide projects ($1m and up). The programs require a 1:1 match and substantive industry and local participation. Designated support organizations, such as Virginia Tech’s Center for Economic & Community Engagement, can assist investigators in addressing these and other requirements.

Higher Education partnerships with industry are of great interest to the program, but so far few have been submitted. Examples include:

  • Center for Energy Research and Education Industry Labs – ($300,000 regional grant funds) The project will create a center at Liberty University that is connected to local and regional economic development efforts. These labs will offer regional companies and institutions of higher education the facilities necessary to promote research and development as well as to foster the attraction and retention of the scientific and engineering workforce.
  • VCU Pharmaceutical Accelerator – ($500,000 regional grants funds) This project will lead to the creation of an advanced manufacturing cluster by commercializing advanced pharmaceutical manufacturing processes and equipment developed through the Medicines for All program at Virginia Commonwealth University.
  • Virginia Digital Shipbuilding Workforce Program – ($647,540 regional grants funds) In this project ODU and Purdue will create a regional and statewide program to train approximately 8,500 future workers – skilled craftsmen, engineers, designers, and IT professionals - to work in the new digital manufacturing environment and will support Hampton Roads’ existing advanced manufacturing and shipbuilding clusters.

Find additional information on GO Virginia.

For questions or assistance in developing proposals please contact John Provo at (540) 231-5278 or

The Region Two Council includes the following 25 council members: 

Dr. Ray Smoot, Chair, Virginia Tech Foundation (Retired)
Dr. Eddie Amos, Vice Chair, GE Digital (Retired)
Michelle Austin, Bank of Botetourt 
Dr. Nathaniel Bishop, Carilion Clinic
Dr. John Capps, Central Virginia Community College
Kenneth Craig, Liberty University
Janice Crawford, Framatome Inc.
Beverly Dalton, English Construction
Sandy Davis, BCR Property Management
Paul Denham, Southern Air Inc.
Dr. John Dooley, Virginia Tech Foundation
Dr. Michael Friedlander, Fralin Biomedical Research Institute
Vince Hatcher, Hollingsworth & Vose Company
Don Halliwill, Carilion Clinic
Mike Hamlar, Hamlar-Curtis Funeral Home
Dr. Patricia Huber, New River Community College 
Dr. Victor Iannello, Radiant Physics, Radiant Ventures (R&D)
Fourd Kemper, Woods Rogers Attorneys at Law 
Floyd Merryman, Sonny Merryman Inc.
Marty Muscatello, Qualtrax Inc.
Kimball Payne, Berkley Group
Debbie Petrine, Commonwealth Care
John Putney, Lynchburg Regional Business Alliance
Luke Towles, Pinnacle Financial Partners
Justin Yalung, Inorganic Ventures